Prize money for Taipei 101 Run Up announced

Taipei, Winners of the Elite division of this year's Taipei 101 Run Up, which will double as the Towerrunning World Championships, will earn a cash prize of NT$114,000 (3,000 euros), announced on the Taipei 101 Run Up website Tuesday.

The Elite division will be open to 100 runners who are invited by the organizer or have met an "A" qualifying standard between 2016 and 2018, according to the event's website.

Elite runners are required to participate in two heats. The first will cover the first to the 35th floor and the second will cover the first to 91st floor, the website said.

The top six overall male and female contestants will earn cash prizes based on points accumulated from the two heats, with first prize NT$114,000 (3,000 euros) and sixth prize NT$9,500 (250 euros).

Taipei 101 joined the World Federation of Great Towers in 2014, and the annual Taipei 101 Run Up event has been included since then as a Towerrunning Tour Race hosted by the Towerrunning World Association (TWA), the international governing body for the sport of stair running.

The iconic building hosted the TWA's Asian & Oceanian Towerrunning Championship in 2017 in which more than 4,500 people took part, the Run Up on May 5 this year will also serve as the Towerrunning World Championships.

The race will have two other categories -- Individuals and Corporate Teams.

The Individuals category will be open to up to 4,000 members of the general public, the event's website said.

To encourage more Taiwanese runners to take part in the event, a Taiwan Champion Award of NT$51,000 (US$1,750) will be awarded to any Taiwanese male and female first place finisher in the Elite or Individuals category.

The Corporate Team category is limited to 30 corporate or organizations with 20 members, the website said, and the top three finishers will win cash prizes of NT$100,000, NT$80,000, NT$50,000, respectively.

A bonus of NT$200,000 will also be given to runners who break the previous men's record of 10 minutes 29.32 seconds set by Paul Crake or the women's record of 12:38.85 set by Andrea Mayr, both in 2005.

People can register for the race starting from noon on March 30 until April 6 at 5 p.m. or until all the slots are filled, the event's website said.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel