Tang Prize exhibition moves to Kaohsiung

The Glory of the Tang Prize: Laureate and Design Exhibition moved to Kaohsiung on Friday after a month-long show in Taipei.

The exhibition will be on show until Nov. 6 at the National Science and Technology Museum, where visitors will be able to see manuscripts, papers, books and personal items belonging to the winners of this year's Tang Prize.

Among those exhibits are two letters written by American scholar William Theodore de Bary, who received the prize for Sinology, to his family in 1948, when he was in Beijing.

Also on display are the Tang Prize medal designed by Japanese designer Naoto Fukasawa and the Tang Prize diplomas for 2016, designed by London-based designer Lin Cheung (???).

The Tang Prize was founded by Taiwanese entrepreneur Samuel Yin (???) in 2012 to complement the Nobel Prize and recognize achievements in the fields of sustainable development, biopharmaceutical science, Sinology and the rule of law.

The first Tang Prizes were awarded in 2014.

In addition to de Bary, this year's winners include Arthur H. Rosenfeld, former commissioner of the California Energy Commission, who won the prize for sustainable development; Jennifer A. Doudna and Feng Zhang (??) of the United States, and Emmanuelle Charpentier of France, who shared the prize for biopharmaceutical science; and Louise Arbour, a former United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, who won the prize for rule of law.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel