GOLDEN HORSE: Stars set to make for stellar awards ceremony

Taipei, Nov. 16 (CNA) Stars from Taiwan, China and Hong Kong are set to bring the audience a stellar Golden Horse Awards ceremony, Taiwan's equivalent of the Oscars and one of the most prestigious film events in the Chinese-speaking world.

All 10 nominees for the best lead actor and actress categories will attend the ceremony at the National Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall in Taipei Saturday, which will be hosted by local entertainer Matilda Tao (???) for the third consecutive year.

The nominees include Duan Yihong (???), Roy Chiu (??), Deng Chao (??), Xu Zheng (??) and Peng Yuchang (???) in the best actor category, as well as best actress contenders Hsieh Ying-xuan (???), Sun Li (??), Zhao Tao (??), Chloe Maayan (????) and Zhou Xun (??).

The line-up has been one of the most anticipated in recent years as many of them enjoy high popularity in the Chinese-speaking community and are active not only on the big screen but also in TV dramas.

There are two pairs among the nominees who are particularly noteworthy -- Deng and Sun, and Chiu and Hsieh -- the former being the first married couple in real life nominated simultaneously for the Golden Horse, with the latter being the only Taiwanese contenders, who play opposite each other in the movie "Dear Ex."

The 55th Golden Horse Awards also features new leadership of the executive committee, which is chaired by two-time Oscar-winning director Ang Lee (??).

Lee, who succeeded renowned Taiwanese actress Sylvia Chang (???) after her four-year term, has also got Chinese actress Gong Li (??) to chair the jury.

An outspoken actress, Gong used to criticize the Golden Horse Awards as "unprofessional and unfair" and said she would never attend the awards again, after losing the best lead actress award to Taiwan's Chen Shiang-chyi (???) in 2014.

Besides the nominees and organizers, there will be other stars on hand to present the awards or perform during the ceremony.

The presenters include Golden Horse winners Andy Lau (???) from Hong Kong, and Shu Qi (??) and Gwei Lun-Mei (???) from Taiwan.

Hong Kong pop singers Karen Mok (???) and Eason Chan (???) will also perform music pieces nominated for the "Best Original Film Song" during the ceremony.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel