Heavy rain warning for 14 cities, counties

Taipei-The Central Weather Bureau on Monday afternoon issued a heavy rain warning for 14 cities and counties, saying people living in eastern Taiwan and in mountainous areas in the western half of the island should watch out for sudden downpours, lightening and strong gusts.

There would be risks of falling rocks and mudslides in mountainous areas, the bureau warned.

The areas covered in the warning are: New Taipei, Yilan, Taoyuan, Hsinchu, Miaoli, Taichung, Nantou, Yunlin, Chiayi, Tainan, Kaohsiung, Hualien, Taitung and Pingtung.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel