Results of 6 municipal mayoral elections expected by 8 p.m.

Taipei, The results of Saturday's mayoral elections in Taiwan's six special municipalities, including the capital Taipei, are expected by 8 p.m. that day, four hours after the polling booths close, Central Election Commission (CEC) Chairman Chen In-chin (???) said Friday.

The special municipality elections are part of the nine-in-one local government elections on Saturday, which are being held along with 10 referendums on issues ranging from same-sex marriage and air pollution to energy and Taiwan's name at international sports events.

People will know who has won the mayoral elections in Taipei, New Taipei, Taoyuan, Taichung, Tainan and Kaohsiung by about 7-8 p.m., after voting concludes at 4 p.m., Chen said, noting that the CEC is expected to announce the official results of all local elections at 11 p.m.

A total of 20,863 candidates are vying for 11,047 seats in local governments. They include six mayors of special municipalities, 16 county magistrates and other city mayors, and 912 municipal councilors and county or city councilors.

Others elections are being held for 204 township chiefs and heads of indigenous districts in municipalities, 2,149 township councilors and indigenous councilors in municipalities, and 7,760 borough chiefs, according to the CEC.

Ten referendums are being held on the same day, with the official results not expected to be announced until 2 a.m. Sunday because the ballot counting will not start until the election votes are counted, which is expected at about 9 p.m., Chen said.

CEC data shows that the number of eligible voters in the local elections is 19.10 million, while that for the referendums is 19.76 million because the referendums are open to citizens aged 18 and over, while the statutory voting age is 20.

Of the 19.76 million people eligible to vote in the referendums, 582,045 are first time voters.

Voting will begin at 8 a.m. and run through 4 p.m. on Saturday.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel